Posts tagged Facebook Friends updates
Facebook, a place where you can find your friends whom you haven’t met from ages. Nothing could be a better place then Facebook to stay connected with your kith and kins.
Recently, Facebook has enabled the option of “Subscribe” for its users. Now you can follow the public updates of other people (even if they are not your friends) and vice versa. Now, when I first saw this tab appearing on my profile, I was completely baffled about how to use it. I ain’t that Facebook addict or something. Later on I visited many Facebook’s official pages to make sure that enabling this option won’t get me into revealing any kind of my personal information to the Public. The Friend limit on Facebook is only 5000 Friends. However, there is no limit on how many subscribers you can keep. You can keep as many subscribers you want. Its like a FB fan page but very much secured. You need to be minimum 18 years old to let people subscribe your posts.
So this Subscribe option is for those people who aren’t in your Friends list but can still view your facebook updates on their News Feed. Once subscribed, they can even post a comment on your status if you’ve allowed them the option to. The subscribed people can set the option of what kind of status update they want to receive from you. For instance, they will have various options like –
What type of update?
Status updates ✔
Photos and Videos
The most easiest way to allow people to subscribe your updates is by subscribing someone like Abby Lawson. You will find the ‘Subscribe’ tab alongside the “Message” and “Poke” button. Click on it. Then a tab of subscriptions will be active below the profile picture of your Facebook. You need to click on it, a tab of “Allow Subscribers” will allow at the top of your page, just need to click yes. After allowing people to subscribe, a tab of Subscribers will allow below the profile picture of your Facebook. You need to click on it, an “Edit” option will appear on the top right corner of the screen. Click on it and manage your subscribe settings. You can turn on the option of allowing people to comment, this helps to build up a good relationship with people who have subscribed to your posts. They can comment and keep in touch with you even though they ain’t in your profile.
How to share updates with Subscribers –
1. Whilst posting an update, you will find an option of whom to share the post with (Friends, close friends or Public).
2. You need to select ‘Public. Once posted, your update will be visible on all your friends and Subscribers News feed.
3. Later on, you can set the privacy of that status to ‘Friends’ as well.
P.S – You can turn off the “Subscribe” option for people whenever you want, its not that once you have enabled it you won’t be able to turn it off later on. You can turn it off as per your wish. Nothing to fret about. You cannot take off people from the list of subscribers. By default, all your friends are subscribed to your posts. If you remove anyone from your friend list, the person is still subscribed to your posts.
You may now subscribe my posts on Facebook by clicking here – Subscribe Button … Thank you
I was fretting about that though I have so many friends in my list, I wasn’t able to see all my Friends updates in my News Feed. It also came to my notice that the same people liked and commented on my status, pics .. For a while, I thought that my friends might have blocked me in their News Feed. People were neglecting my posts. I was also not able to view all my friends recent updates. It was yesterday that one of my good friends told me that by default, the New Facebook Profile’s settings are set in such a way that only the people who have interacted with you the most (comments, likes and messages) would be able to see your updates / posts (People who have interacted with you prior to upgrading to the New Facebook Profile). My friend said that she was also facing the same problem and now it had sorted out for her. I pondered for a while and realized that this was true.
No one’s neglecting you, you are still their good friend but they are not able to view your updates and vice versa.
Now this is how you can get this sorted out –
1. Click on “Home”.
2. Scroll down to the bottom of “Home Page” (News Feed)
3. Click on “Edit Options”.
4. By default, “Show Posts from” would have – “Friends and Pages you interact with most”.
5. You have to change it to ,”All of your Friends and Pages”.
6. Click on “Save” button.
Its of no use if you are just posting updates to your profile in each and every hour but hardly any of your friends are able to view them. Peope who ain’t able to view your posts now would never be able to see them until and unless they change their settings in the NEWS FEED.
This is very much important if you want to stay connected with each and every friend in your Friends List. Please feel free to share this note with all your friends.